Awards Shortlist

The finalists in the 2018 National Car Club Awards, in association with Tourism Ireland, have been revealed. This year has seen the most nominations from clubs and club members to date. Supported by Classic Car Weekly, and endorsed by the Federation of British Historic Vehicle Clubs, the overall Award winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Saturday 24th March at Birmingham’s NEC.

The awards will be presented at the glittering ceremony, hosted by Mike Brewer alongside the Practical Classics Classic Car & Restoration Show, with Discovery. The shortlist covers twenty of the award categories with the finalists for the Lifetime Achievement award still to be decided. The other six awards will be decided by the judges on Saturday and presented their prize at the awards dinner.

There will then be a ‘Judges Special Recognition Award’ presented to a club that the panel feel has gone the extra mile in the classic motoring movement.




Classic Car Club categories


National Car Club of the Year

Sponsored by | Lancaster Insurance


Enthusiasts of British Motors build before 1985

Gay Classic Car Group

Lotus Drivers Club           

MG Car Club

Morris Register

National Street Rod Association

Skoda Owners’ Club GB

TR Register

Volvo Owners Club


Outstanding Club Magazine of the Year (printed)

Sponsored by | Tourism Ireland


BMW Car Club GB – for Straight Six

Gay Classic Car Group – for Big End

Jaguar Enthusiasts’ Club – for Jaguar Enthusiast

Jensen Owners’ Club – for Jensen

MG Car Club – for SafetyFast!

Midget and Sprite Club – for MASCOT

Mini Cooper Register – for CooperWorld

National Street Rod Association – for Street Gasser

The Porsche 924 Owners Club – for TwoFour

The Series 2 Club – for Built 2 Last

Triumph 2000 2500 2.5 Register – for SIXappeal

Volvo Owners Club – for Volvo Driver


Outstanding Online Presence by a Car Club (including social media, website and other online presence)

Sponsored by | Lancaster Insurance


BMW Car Club GB

Enthusiasts of British Motors build before 1985

Lotus Drivers Club

Maestro & Montego Owners Club

MK1 Golf Owners Club

National Street Rod Association

Opel Manta Owners Club

Skoda Owners’ Club GB

The 1100 Club


Outstanding Car Club Event(s) - Single venue event, show

Sponsored by | Classic Car Weekly


BMW Car Club GB – for BMW Car Club National Festival 2017

Jaguar Enthusiasts Club – for The Royal Windsor Jaguar Festival

MG Car Club – for MGLive!

National Street Rod Association – for 27th NSRA Hot Rod Supernationals & 21st ESRA European Street Rod Nationals

Rover Sports Register – for Roverfest

TR Register – for TR Register drivers parade at the British Grand Prix

Volvotuning – for Volvo 90 …The VT Revolution celebrating 90 years of great Volvo cars


Outstanding Car Club Event(s) - Including run, rally or tour

Sponsored by | Classic Car Weekly


Bright Yellow Car Group – for Bright Yellow Car Convoy to Bilbury

Club Triumph – for 10CR (Ten Countries Run)

Jensen Owners’ Club – for Saxony Tour

Marcos Owners Club  - for British Classic Welcome Le Mans France

Midget & Sprite Club UK & Spridget Club Switzerland – for Alpine Miglia Tour


Outstanding Club Initiative to Encourage the Next Generation

Sponsored by | FBHVC


Morris Minor Owners Club

Morris Register

National Street Rod Association


Best Car Club Contribution to Charity – NEW AWARD

Sponsored by | Carole Nash


Crash Box & Classic Car Club

Jaguar Enthusiasts Club

Rover 200 and 400 Owners Club

Sporting Bears Motor Club

Triumph Classic Owners Club

West Berkshire Classic Vehicle Club

Wolseley Register


Devoted Member categories


National Car Club Unsung Hero of the Year

Sponsored by | Footman James


Glen Bunting - Post Vintage Humber Car Club

Steve Conry - Avenger Sunbeam Owners Club

Anthony (Tony) Hipperson (posthumous nomination) - Riley Motor Club

Ron Kirby - Volvo Owners Club

Bob Langston - Wolseley Register

Dave Lawton - Morris Register

Matt Ollman - Rootes Archive Centre Trust

Mike Parker - MG Car Club

Will Punchard - Scirocco Register

Ian Roberts - Gay Classic Car Group

Thelma Smith (posthumous nomination) - Jensen Owners Club


National Car Club Ambassador of the Year

Sponsored by | Meguiars


Sean Fleetwood - Scirocco Register

Peter Lee - Transit Van Club

Kevin Price - Volvo Enthusiasts Club

Wayne Scott - TR Register

Nigel Thorley - Jaguar Enthusiasts Club


National Car Club ‘Young Member’ of the Year – NEW AWARD

Sponsored by | Lancaster Insurance


Benjamin Crosby -

Ben Hatton - MG FWD Register

Gemma Weeks - The Imp Club

Neal Welch - Austin A30/A35


National Car Club Lifetime Achievement

Sponsored by | Tourism Ireland


Drummond Black - Jowett Car Club

Rose and Arthur Peeling - Morris Register

Barry Priestman - Crayford Convertible Car Club & Heinz 57 Register

John Simpson - Boston Classic Car Club